Accreditation and Associations

In order to insure the quality of its programs – both online and on campus – Johnson University is a leader in accreditation among Christian institutions of higher education.

  • Johnson University is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC, to award associate’s, bachelor’s, master’s, and doctoral degrees. Contact the Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, GA 30033-4097 or call 404-679-4500 for questions about the accreditation of Johnson University.
  • Programs in the School of Bible & Theology and the School of Congregational Ministry are accredited by the Commission on Accreditation of the Association for Biblical Higher Education, an accrediting body recognized by the Council for Higher Education Accreditation (ABHE, 5850 T.G. Lee Blvd., Suite 130, Orlando, FL 32822; Telephone: 407-207-0808;
  • The Teacher Education Program is approved by the Tennessee State Board of Education (Andrew Johnson Tower, 710 James Robertson Parkway, Nashville, TN 37243, Telephone: 615-741-2966), and by the Association of Christian Schools International (P.O. Box 65130, Colorado Springs, CO 80962-5130, Telephone: 719-528-6906).
  • Johnson University is also a member of the Appalachian College Association, the North American Coalition for Christian Admissions Professionals, the Tennessee Independent Colleges and Universities Association, the Tennessee Conference of Graduate Schools, and an affiliate member of Council for Christian Colleges and Universities.
  • Johnson University Florida operates and grants degrees under the jurisdiction of the Florida Department of Education (325 W. Gaines St., Suite 1414, Tallahassee, FL 32399-0400; Telephone: 850-245-0505).

    Johnson University Florida is approved as an eligible private institution for receipt of federal and state financial aid by the U.S. Department of Education and the Florida Department of Education.
  • The Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP), a specialized accrediting body recognized by the Council for Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA), has granted accreditation to the following concentrations in the School of Social and Behavioral Sciences at Johnson University: Clinical Mental Health Counseling (M.A.) and School Counseling (M.A.).